Cape Townians in Kuala Lumpur

Kuala Lumpur's vibrant China Town

A new year and a new blog post. As you know, I went on a week long trip to Kuala Lumpur. We were in China town one night. This is located in Petaling Street and I can describe it as a huge flea market. All of a sudden I hear, “Jislaik bru – how much did you say this was?” I couldn’t resist. I turned around and found three young men bargaining with an oldish Chinese hawker.

“Are you from Cape Town?” I asked.

At this point I have to admit that I have a thing for stopping to speak to fellow traveling South Africans. My husband hates this about me but I can’t help myself!

“Ja and you? said one of the dudes.

“From Pretoria. Do you like KL?”

“Its nice.”

Then my brother joined in the conversation. “Is hierdie takkies goedkoop hier?”
The three guys asked the Chinese hawker one more time how much the Paul Smith knock offs were.

“30 Ringgit” He proclaimed

“Ag, jou ma se 30 Ringgit!”

Cape Townians – gotta love them!!

Leave a Reply

