How to be a Skinny Bitch

I’m certain that if you’re a female then you’ve had thoughts about fat being in the wrong places before. Lately, I’ve been thinking about that a lot! So, on my recent trip to the bookstore I couldn’t help but notice “Skinny Bitch”. It is hilarious! It’s written by Rory Freedman and Kim Barnouin who were both in the modelling business (one was an agent; the other was a former model). If you’re looking for a book that’s going to baby you into thinking about losing those excess kilos – forget it.

Diet Book with an Attitude
Skinny Bitch is a self help book with a whole lot of attitude. I mean, here are a few lines from the book:

Okay. Use your head. You need to get healthy if you want to get skinny. The first thing you need to do is give up your gross vices. Don’t act surprised! You cannot keep eating the same shit and expect to get skinny.

Veganism

Once you get into it, you realise that the book is more than a diet book. It’s actually a book on being a vegan. Amazingly, there are a lot of cold, hard facts in there that are bound to shock you.

Personally, I couldn’t become a vegan. I don’t think I’m ready for that. I only just became a vegetarian about 18 months ago so veganism would be an extreme step for me.

But, I’ve read the book – I’m more aware of and outraged by the crap that goes into our food. I’ll try to buy organic food where possible. And while I’m at it, I’ll start training for the RAK half marathon in February (more on that in another blog post).

Leave a Reply

