Attend the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games if you Support Child Labour

Shocking pictures of Child Labour at Construction Sites

When I read reports of New Delhi not being ready for the 2010 Commonwealth Games, I didn’t really bat an eyelid. There were similar reports doing the rounds before the 2010 FIFA World Cup. I can remember how angry I was when my husband’s firm issued a travel warning to all staff travelling to South Africa. “Exaggerations,” I thought. The Games would go on successfully and the Indians would say, “I told you so” to all their tourists! But then I saw pictures of children working on the construction sites in New Delhi.

It’s really pathetic! This one in particular from Foreign Policy made me mad as hell. Look at this poor kid! That brick is almost as big as she is!

Labour conditions at Construction Sites in Delhi

There are numerous reports of child labour being used to prepare for the Commonwealth Games. Reports of children as young as 7 are working alongside their parents. These kids, who are supposed to be in school, supposed to be playing with dolls or toy cars, supposed to be care free – are being forced to handle hammers and spades and toil in the Indian sun, doing really hard, manual labour for anything up to 10 or 12 hours a day. News on the street is that conditions are so awful that construction workers (kids included) are forced to bath and go to the toilet in bushes behind construction sites!

Public outcry – all talk no action

I admit, there has been a huge public outcry about child labour being used to prepare for the 2010 Commonwealth Games. But what will come of it? Nothing, I’m afraid. Indian officials will bury their heads in the sand. Commonwealth Federation Officials will hide behind the excuse of dashing to get ready for the games. Athletes will go to India and compete. And no one will remember these poor kids! No one will bother to stop and think that these kids sacrificed their youth so that someone could win a stupid medal; someone could get broadcast rights; someone could pay a bribe and someone could accept it. Like so many injustices in this world – this will go away quietly.

I have a nephew who is turning 7. I can’t imagine him slaving away like this. That’s why I will switch off my television set come October 3rd!

2 responses

  1. […] LINKS Attend the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games if you Support Child Labour25 minutes agoShocking pictures of Child Labour at Construction SitesWhen I read reports of New Delhi not being ready for the 2010 Commonwealth Games, I didn’t really bat an eyelid. There were similar reports doing the rounds before the 2010 FIFA World Cup. I can remember how angry I was when my husband’s firm issued a travel warning to all staff travelling to South Africa. “Exaggerations,” I thought. The Games would go on successfully and the Indians would say, “I told you so” to all their tourists! But then I saw pictures of children working on the construction sites in New Delhi. It’s really pathetic! This one in particular from Foreign Policy made me mad as hell. Look at this poor kid! That brick is almost as big as she is!SOURCE: https://soulfood101.wordpress.com/2010/09/26/attend-the-delhi-2010-commonwealth-games-if-you-support-… […]

  2. Attend the Delhi 2010 Commonwealth Games if you Support Child ……

    I found your entry interesting do I’ve added a Trackback to it on my weblog :)…

Leave a Reply

