Eat Pray Love – the one word that is me?!

I recently read “Eat Pray Love” by Elizabeth Gilbert. Ok, so stop rolling your eyes – I know this book has been out centuries ago and the movie is about to be screened soon, but hey, better late than never. Basically, the book tracks the exploits of Elizabeth Gilbert on her year long journey in Italy, India and finally Bali.

One part that stuck out for me was when Liz (Elizabeth Gilbert) is talking to her friend Giulio in Rome and he explains, “…every city has a single word that defines it, that identifies most people who live there” (Before you ask an obvious question, Rome’s word is Sex). Giulio then proceeds to ask Liz, “What’s your word?” This question obviously triggers a lot of thought and confusion in Liz and me!

So, what is the one word that describes me? Should it be just one? “Happy” could be one but then “longing” also springs to mind because I desperately miss my family in South Africa. Then I started thinking about how it came to be that my husband and I wound up in Dubai. Maybe “motivated” should be it.

Talking about my husband, he often tells me that he realizes that I always need little “projects” to keep me going in my life. A few months ago I was consumed with planning our trip to the World Cup. After that I was interested in apps for my ipod touch. And this week it’s back to the gym! Methinks my word should be “distracted.”

We recently had dinner with an old friend from South Africa. He is a high-powered businessman who is much older than my husband and I. During the dinner, he looked at both of us and proclaimed, “Both of you are typical DINKS!” So maybe that should be our words “dual income no kids!” But I don’t really think that describes who I am at all.

Anyway, I think I’m rambling on a bit. Elizabeth Gilbert finally found her word. No such luck for me. I will continue searching.

What’s the one word that describes you?

3 responses

  1. Yes granny1947, optimistic has definite potential! I’ve decided that my word is forever changing – a good thing, don’t you think?

  2. thats a good question.. i think i don’t know my word yet.. but WHAT WAS LIZ’S WORD? :S i forgot it :/

Leave a Reply

