Robert Kiyosaki vs. Suze Orman – Security or Freedom?

Robert KiyosakiLong before the financial crisis began I made up my mind that I wanted to be financially free. Back then, I was completing an accounting degree at the University of Pretoria in South Africa. Yes, I agree – many accountants are rich but I wanted more. My concept was roughly this: I wanted a crap load of money without having to think about where it was coming from.

I knew what I wanted and I knew that the only way I was going to get there was to educate myself. So, I bought a copy of “Rich Dad, Poor Dad” by Robert Kiyosaki. I must be honest – I had to read that book 3 times before I got it. Yes, here’s an accounting student, trying to grasp (or shall I say, re-grasp) accounting concepts (As we know now – Robert’s views on assets and liabilities are not entirely in sync with those of university professors’). After that – I went straight out and bought my first property. I must admit – it wasn’t as easy as that – I didn’t have 2 cents to rub together but I am lucky enough to have a very generous dad!

Suze OrmanThat was almost 10 years ago. These days I try to educate myself through a variety of sources. One person that has stood out lately is Suze Orman – the world of finance’s own Deepak Chopra. Whilst, Suze genuinely seems to want to help people who are financially illiterate and she generally does provide some pretty solid advice, there’s something that I don’t quite understand about Suze, though. It’s as if she is trying to limit everyone’s personal growth. “Spend less.” “Live below your means”. “You can’t have what you want.” Why? Will people ever become financially free by doing these things?

Know this: there is a huge difference between being financially secure and being financially free. Being secure financially just means that you are able to cover your expenses and maybe, save a little for the future. Having financial freedom means that your passive income goes way beyond your expenses and you will live well regardless what happens in the markets.

My take on it is that Suze Orman’s advice is for people who want to stay as slaves and employees to financial markets. If you believe that you must get and keep a good job for the rest of your life, then stick with Suze.

If, however, you believe that it is possible to dream big, that the possibilities for your potential are endless, that it is truly possible to break free from the shackles of bondage that we call jobs – then educate yourself and go out and play Robert’s Cashflow 101. I just did and I feel liberated.

6 responses

  1. suze orman is a dumbass she couldnt have done any better in this economy then the people she gives advice to.

  2. great article man and very true. While I don’t think Kiyosaki is for everyone, it certainly is for those seeking freedom… and of course, to achieve true freedom, you must reach financial freedom. When I first opened Rich Dad Poor Dad, I had no idea what to expect… I had read a few reviews on Amazon, but I had looked at several Personal Finance books and I really don’t remember putting 2 and 2 together. Long story short, Kiyosaki changed my life. I would prefer someone read Kiyosaki over any other “guru” anyday, because at least he tells you to get off your ass and stop being a slave. So many of these people just do what they’re told, never exercising their freedom. Truly, if they lived in a fascist state, what would be so different? Pursue your passion, take on some risk, go live your life and if you fail, you will learn and march forward with the knowledge of your mistakes. Kiyosaki is brilliant, I’LL SEE YOU AT THE TOP.

  3. […] Robert Kiyosaki vs. Suze Orman – Security or Freedom? June 20092 comments 3 […]

  4. Hi Prisha, I just this minute came across your post and I completely agree with your take. It’s funny, I recently posted a similar posting entitled “SUZE ORMAN VS ROBERT KIYOSAKI” on my artist blog http://www.artistkarenking.com. I read a number of your other blog postings and I have to say I think we have a lot in common in terms of how we think. I am fascinated with Dubai and really all of the UAE. I am an artist and my subject is the Arabian horse but my blog posting are about much more than art. I cover a lot of random subjects as well, from Tom Cruise to “How to eat like a pig and not get fat” and on and on. Anyway I would just like to say that I admire strong women like you. Its nice to know we are underneath the same big sky even if it is clear across the planet.

  5. This was so refreshing! You made an awesome distinction and you put it very eloquently, yet, to the point. I totally resonated when you said, there’s a difference between “financially secure” and being “financially free.”

    This reminded me of how Robert said that wealth can be measured by how long you can live your lifetyle even if you were to stop working.

    great post in showing the contrast between both philosophies!

  6. Hi. Nice article. I‘ve also been following the two. I agree that Orman‘s advice are geared towards employees, while kiyosaki‘s advice encourage capitalism. Orman visited Manila recently and I got invited to her forum. You may want to check out the article on my blog: abbeybravo.wordpress.com. Thanks.

Leave a Reply

